Design & Technology

Mission Statement

The Design & Technology department at St.Sampson’s High School School are committed to delivering a curriculum accessible to all which provides the broadest possible range of opportunities for students. Our curriculum enables students to become self-motivated and confident learners, who can work independently and as part of a team.

We aim to ensure that learners develop technical and practical competences as well as the wider skills valued by employers.

Our main priority is for students to be problem solvers who are not afraid of making mistakes. We hope our students will become responsible citizens who make a positive contribution to society.

Overview

During KS3 students experience a range of areas within D&T this includes Resistant Materials, Textiles Technology, Food Technology and Graphic Products.

In Design Technology we teach practical skills in a variety of material areas and students have the opportunity to design and make their own products applying different skills and processes along the way.

We offer KS4 courses in Resistant Materials, Food Technology and Graphic Products – our students go on to ‘A’ level courses at The Grammar School and Sixth Form Centre, Vocational Courses at The College of Further Education, Apprenticeships or directly into employment.

Teaching Team

Sally Wenlock (Head of Department)

sally.wenlock@education.gg

Ben Wooldridge (Resistant Materials)

ben.wooldridge@stsampsonshigh.sch.gg

Chris Haimes (Resistant Materials & Food)

Christopher.Haimes@stsampsonshigh.sch.gg

Paul Giles-Phillips (Food Technology)

Paul.Giles-Phillips@stsampsonshigh.sch.gg

Kate Kanjere (KS3 Graphics)

Kate.Kanjere2@stsampsonshigh.sch.gg

Mark Ingrouille (KS3 RMT and Textiles)

Mark.Ingrouille@stsampsonshigh.sch.gg

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s